The term Kuroko” (literal translation: black child//black clothes) is used in reference to the stagehands in traditional Japanese theatre, dressed all in black so as to appear invisible.  They move about in kabuki and noh stages much as a stealthy ninja at night. They may even hold props or move scenery, but are rarely apparent on stage.

Each year at our General Membership Gathering, the Honolulu Japanese Chamber of Commerce (HJCC) recognizes members that have continued to support the organization in many ways “behind the scenes”.  The selection committee is the office staff who interacts directly with our members.

Congratulations to the 2020 Kuroko Award honoree:

Peter Hamasaki
McCorriston Miller Mukai MacKinnon LLP
Member Since 2004


Article written by Wayne Ishihara, President & CEO

Peter Hamasaki, Partner, McCorriston Miller Mukai MacKinnon LLP was selected for this annual award by the Chamber staff.  The name KUROKO is derived from the Japanese KABUKI theater which uses stage staff dressed in black to move props on stage during the performance.

Peter has been a member for 15 years.  He presently serves as the Governmental Affairs Committee Chair for the last 8 years.  He pioneered the concept with his committee brown bag lunch meetings with a guest Speaker. It has been quite successful with an average of 20 members.

Mina Sakai, staff member, stated Peter plans and usually determines who will speak.  He also coordinates the annual Governmental Affairs Survey which attempts to poll our members on important issues facing our State and creating initiatives which are shared with the Legislatures.

Chair of the Board Jon Tsukamoto presented the award at our recent General Membership Gathering.  He stated that Peter has continued his leadership skills and dedication.


Published April 2020


Past Kuroko Award Honorees

Emi Anamizu
Seiji Aspengren
Sidney Hamada
Mark Ibara
Jody Kadokawa
Phyllis Kihara
Karl Kobayashi
Michael McMurdo
Wayne Miyao
Brian Nishida
Michael Nomura
Ronald Ushijima

Hiroshima Kenjin Kai

Richard Park III
Carl Watanabe
Gus Yniguez

Robert Nagao
Lyle Takeuchi

Gregg Mueller
Chris Anjo

Stanley Gono
Cathy Tong

Clayton Hill